Hunt for car insurance….

Friday 23rd 3.01pm So, car insurance, yeah… where do I start?!  Quick google search seemed to bring up worldwide car HIRE insurance so I figured that wasn’t right.  I decided to give an insurer a ring. I decided on Axa as I’d spoken to them in the past and as they were big I thought there’d be a good chance of them selling it.  Unfortunately no, they said they can provide European cover for 90 days but that was it.  They also mentioned Green cards (what?!?!  Note to self – research green cards!!)  Then they told me to google it… Great, thanks for that lol!!

Saturday 11pm  On my second google I came across this article  http://www.wikihow.com/Travel-the-World-by-Car which although didn’t answer my question it did throw up some questions I hadn’t thought of so will now add to my list of things to research and do.  So the newly added items are

1)     First aid training

2)     Get an international driving licence

3)     Find out about car registration for countries outside of Europe

4)     Get carnet de passage (if you’re applying for one from the UK you need to go here http://www.carseurope.net/carnet-de-passage-en-douanes-cpd/ 

11.15pm   So I’m googling, googling, googling and I’m not sure this is the best way of getting round the world… most people seem to recommend local transport…some bloggers were convinced they were going to die driving in some international destinations…that definitely isn’t in my plan!!!  Still can’t easily find out how we’re going to insure the car!  Argh!!  Can anyone help??  Tell me where to look???  Will keep looking…

11.21pm – Have just discovered if we want to drive in China we’ll need a Chinese drivers license!!

11.23pm – Think we’re going to need to get a portable breathalyser… and reflective jacket, a hazard triangle, headlamp converters, a first aid kit – and to we’ll need display a GB sticker… getting all this info from https://www.moneysupermarket.com/car-insurance/articles/car-insurance-around-the-world/

11.31pm You can’t drive a dirty car in Moscow?!!?  Random!  Yeah, that’s something that might get us in trouble, we’re not really known for having an immaculate car!!!

11.35pm ooooh!  Found a useful article!  https://www.confused.com/on-the-road/driving-abroad/guide-to-driving-abroad tells me that to get an international drivers licence it will cost £5.50 from the Post Office, AA or RAC…wonder how long they last???

11.37pm Found a website that explains Green Cards!!  https://www.mib.org.uk/making-a-claim/accidents-in-the-uk-involving-a-foreign-registered-vehicle/green-card-system-explained/

11.39pm  Too tired to keep looking but will carry on as soon as I can!!

 

 

Author: DreamBig

Based in Birmingham, UK.

Leave a Reply

